amazing struggles, astonishing failures & disappointing success

A comedic history of science fiction

I've always found the history of science fiction as fascinating at the content of the stories.  Originally written as a (to-date unperformed) marathon stage production, Amazing Struggles, Astonishing Failures & Disappointing Success is an epic story about the story-tellers -- following the careers of sometimes noble, sometimes venal fanboys and fangirls as they grow into gosh-golly actual professional science fiction writers and boldly go through the joys and disasters of the far-flung 20th Century!

Originally produced by Shoestring Radio Theater.

Series one: "amazing Struggles"

Hang on folks! It's the Great Depression! The Hitler-Stalin Non-Aggression Pact and the Atomic Bomb! Plus sinister editors and lots of rejection letters!

Episode One: It's 1938. Can't get published? Maybe International Communism can help.

00:00 / 25:20

Episode Two: Political lust and fantasy manifestos. The journey to the "Ultimate Argument" continues.

00:00 / 24:16

Episode Three: Science Fiction loses it’s innocence and a strange dangerous era dawns! The final episode of Amazing Struggles.

00:00 / 24:31

Series two: "astonishing failures"

Put on your conformity pants, it's the Fabulous 1950s! The War is over, our Fabulist Friends have all got jobs, families and are writing some pretty cool stuff. How in the name of the shifting cosmic axis did that happen?

Episode One: Blast off for adventure kids! Can Alexander Stern and the Solar Police save your bad marriage? Probably not.

01 - Astonishing1
00:00 / 25:13

Episode Two: Bored? Frustrated? Constantly short of cash? Why not raise your IQ and wash your own brain in the comfort of your home?

02 - Astonishing2
00:00 / 27:21

Episode Three: A bunch of cosmic chickens come home to roost and our protagonist learns a vew very hard life lessons. The startling (well, inevitable) conclusion of Astonishing Failures.

03 - Astonishing3
00:00 / 24:59

Tel: 123-456-7890 | Fax: 123-456-7890

© 2020 Retrograde Mentor. Proudly created with